San Antonio PIRTEK wins second straight National Franchise of the Year award

PIRTEK Annual National Franchise Conference – Award Winners

PIRTEK Broadway received high honors as PIRTEK USA’s National Franchise of the Year for 2017 – the second consecutive year the San Antonio, TX, location has won the award. Owners Dean and Lisa Akin, who own two other PIRTEK franchises in Texas, received the award during PIRTEK’s annual conference, held this year in Scottsdale, AZ.

This year’s annual conference also celebrated the 20th anniversary of PIRTEK’s launch in the United States. The event included workshops and panel sessions featuring owners and executives from PIRTEK Australia, where the PIRTEK brand was first launched nearly 30 years ago.

“This is a real tribute to our team, to the people who make all this possible day after day,” said Dean Akin, who recently acquired PIRTEK Northwest Crossing in Houston and opened a mobile-only PIRTEK in Austin, TX. “I was so glad to receive this award again. It validates everyone’s hard work, and it shows that we’re on the right track.”

In addition to the national award, the Akins’ San Antonio location also won the 2017 Southwest Region Franchise of the Year.

The Franchise of the Year award recognizes high performance, excellence in franchise operation, personal commitment and enthusiasm for the PIRTEK brand. PIRTEK franchise owners from around the country attend the annual conference for educational sessions, networking and an opportunity to share business strategies with fellow franchisees.

The West Coast regional winner was Dan Currid, whose PIRTEK San Leandro in Orange, CA, won top regional honors for the second straight year. Dave Herbert, who owns PIRTEK Altamonte Springs in Altamonte Springs, FL, was the Southeast Region winner. Herbert acquired the Orlando-area location in 2017 and quickly turned it into a top-performing franchise.

From Left: Brett Kozishek, Dan Currid, Derak Bates and David Herbert

Matt and Kathy Valkovic won in the Northeast region for PIRTEK Monroeville in Monroeville, PA. Midwest honors went to Eli Dorfman of PIRTEK Wixom in Wixom, MI.

From Left: Brent Carmichael and Matt Valkovic

“PIRTEK has grown so rapidly this past year, and our people have done a tremendous job running their franchises and serving the customer,” said Glenn Duncan, CEO of PIRTEK. “They truly embody the values we hold at PIRTEK and we’re proud of them all. We’re all looking forward to another successful year.”

Other award winners included Rookie of the Year Carl Prince of PIRTEK Elmwood in Harahan, LA. PIRTEK O’Hare, owned by Ken Adair, was recognized for having the top U.S. sales, and the team at PIRTEK Plano South won the Community Service award.

From Left: Mike Kopatich, Ken Adair, Carl Prince and Jamie Vokes